Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828)

Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795

High Voice
Bärenreiter Urtext

Franz Schubert - Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795Franz Schubert - Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795Franz Schubert - Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795Franz Schubert - Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795Franz Schubert - Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795
forVoice (high), piano
Musical EditionsMusic score (Urtext edition)
Item no.564550
Author / ComposerFranz Schubert
TextWilhelm Müller
EditorWalther Dürr
Languagesgerman, english
Scope55 pages; 23 × 30 cm
Release year2010
Publisher / ProducerBärenreiter
Producer No.BA 9117


  • Famous song cycle available for the first time in a separate edition.
  • Foreword by Walther Dürr discussing the history of the work’s composition and sources (Ger/Eng)
  • With an English translation of the song texts by Richard Wigmore

The cycle of poems “Die schöne Müllerin” was originally written by several authors including Wilhelm Müller, Achim von Arnim, Luise and Wilhelm Hensel and Ludwig Rellstab. It was published in its final form in 1820 by Wilhelm Müller in the collection “Sieben und siebzig Gedichte aus den hinterlassenen Papieren eines reisenden Waldhornisten”.

At that time the cycle included 23 poems. Schubert omitted three poems as well as a prologue and epilogue in his setting, thereby overriding the irony and pessimistic ending intended by the poet. Schubert’s composition was published in five books between February and August 1824.

The first lieder in the cycle are happy and composed with a forward momentum, characteristics which are also reflected in the virtuoso piano accompaniment. The second part of the song cycle turns into resignation, melancholy and impotent rage and is similar to Schubert’s “Winterreise” in its longing for death.


  •   Vorwort
  •   Preface
  •   Liedtexte / Song Texts
  •   Die schöne Müllerin op. 25 D 795:
  •   1. Das Wandern
  •   2. Wohin?
  •   3. Halt!
  •   4. Danksagung an den Bach
  •   5. Am Feierabend
  •   6. Der Neugierige
  •   7. Ungeduld
  •   8. Morgengruß
  •   9. Des Müllers Blumen
  •   10. Tränensegen
  •   11. Mein!
  •   12. Pause
  •   13. Mit dem grünen Lautenbande
  •   14. Der Jäger
  •   15. Eifersucht und Stolz
  •   16. Die liebe Farbe
  •   17. Die böse Farbe
  •   18. Trockne Blumen
  •   19. Der Müller und der Bach
  •   20. Des Baches Wiegenlied
15.50 €
plus shipping
In stock. Delivery time: 1–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list

Recently viewed

Verband deutscher MusikschulenBundesverband der Freien MusikschulenJeunesses Musicales DeutschlandFrankfurter Tonkünstler-BundBundes­verb­and deutscher Lieb­haber-OrchesterStützpunkt­händ­ler der Wiener Urtext Edition

© 2004–2023 by Stretta Music. Order and buy sheet music online.

Your specialist for all kinds of sheet music. Online shop, sheet music, music scores and play along for download, books, music stands, music stand lights, accessories.