+49 (0) 9303 98171-0 en-com 0
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809 – 1847)

Hymn of Praise op. 52 MWV A 18

A Symphony-Cantata after Texts from the Holy Scriptures
Bärenreiter Urtext

for3 soloists (SST), mixed choir (SATB), orchestra, organ
Musical EditionsPiano reduction (Urtext edition)
Item no.695978
Author / ComposerFelix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
EditorJohn Michael Cooper
Languagesgerman, english
Scope128 pages; 19 × 27 cm
Release year2020
Publisher / ProducerBärenreiter
Producer No.BA 9092-90


For the first time the piano reduction includes Mendelssohn’s authorised version of the “Sinfonia”, based on the first edition of No. 1 for piano solo. - - Timp - Org - Str

English Text by Charles Henry Monicke as approved by the composer

Mendelssohn’s contemporaries frequently mentioned his Hymn of Praise (Lobgesang) in the same breath as Beethoven’s Ninth – and often enough viewed it as an imitation. Mendelssohn authority John Michael Cooper, in his extensive Introduction to this new Urtext edition, shows that the comparison is completely unfounded: with this work Mendelssohn created a new genre to which he gave the name “symphony-cantata”. Later he added a secular counterpart with Die Erste Walpurgisnacht.

Drawing on all relevant sources, Cooper provides a detailed account of the genesis and structure of this monumental work. Rounding off his scholarly performing edition are notes on the work’s performance, e.g. tempo, articulation and dynamics.


  • ​Introduction
  • ​Einführung
  • ​Texts and Translations
  • Lobgesang (Hymn of Praise) op. 52 MWV A 18. Eine Symphonie-Kantate nach Worten der Heiligen Schrift:
  • ​No. 1. [Sinfonia]:
  • ​No. 1[a] Maestoso con moto – Allegro
  • ​No. 1[b] Allegretto un poco agitato
  • ​No. 1[c] Adagio religioso
  • ​No. 2. [Chor.] Alles, was Odem hat / All that has life and breath
  • ​No. 3. Recitativo [und Arie.] Saget es, die ihr erlöset seid – Er zählet unsre Tränen / Sing ye praise, all ye redeemed – He counteth all your sorrows
  • ​No. 4. Chor. Sagt es, die ihr erlöset seid / All ye that cried unto the Lord
  • ​No. 5. [Duett mit Chor.] Ich harrete des Herrn / I waited for the Lord
  • ​No. 6. [Arie.] Stricke des Todes / The sorrows of death
  • ​No. 7. [Chor] Die Nacht ist vergangen / The night is departed
  • ​No. 8. Choral. Nun danket alle Gott / Let all men praise the Lord
  • ​No. 9. [Duett.] Nun sing' ich mit meinem Liede / My song shall be therefore thy mercy
  • ​No. 10. Schlusschor. Ihr Völker, bringet her dem Herrn / Ye nations, offer to the Lord
13.50 €
plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (de )
add to watch list

© 2004–2022 by Stretta Music. Order and buy sheet music online.

Your specialist for all kinds of sheet music. Online shop, sheet music, music scores and play along for download, books, music stands, music stand lights, accessories.