+49 (0) 9303 98171-0 es-com 0
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 – 1958)

Symphony No. 5 D major

ParaOrquesta sinfónica
MaterialPartitura de estudio
№ de artículo559857
Autor / CompositorRalph Vaughan Williams
EditorPeter Horton
Alcance120 Páginas; 18,9 × 24,6 cm
Duración40 minutos
Año de lanzamiento2009
Editorial / fabricanteOxford University Press
N.º del fabricanteOUP 9780193368248


A new edition in study score format of Vaughan Williams's much-loved Symphony No. 5, correcting errors and misprints and based on research of the extant sources.

Despite having been composed in the years 1938-43 when Europe was ravaged by war, this work radiates peace and serenity. It marks the peak of the lyrical modalism of works such as the Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis (1910), Flos Campi (1925), and Job (1931). Although it is not a programme symphony, it draws heavily on John Bunyan's The Pilgrim's Progress for inspiration, featuring several themes that were sketched for (and eventually used in) Vaughan Williamsâs 1951 opera. In addition, Bunyan's words 'He hath given me rest by his sorrow and life by his death' were originally inscribed over the third movement. This idea of strength drawn from religion must have been especially potent when Vaughan Williams conducted the premiere of the work at the Proms in 1943, during the dark days of the Second World War. The ending in particular has a sense of rising above all worldly concerns into a higher spiritual plane.

This edition contains a preface on the history of the work by Michael Kennedy. Orchestral parts are available on hire.

Orchestration: 2fl(II+picc), ob, ca, 2cl, 2bsn, 2hn, 2tpt, 3tbn, timp, str

21,25 €
mas costes de envío
Plazo de envío: 2–3 días laborables (de )
añadir a favoritos

© 2004–2022 por Stretta Music. Ordena y compra partituras online.

Tu especialista en todo tipo de partituras. Tienda online, partituras, descarga de partituras y juegos, libros, atriles, luces de atriles, accesorios.