Ralph Vaughan Williams (18721958)

Symphony No. 8 in d minor

Partitura de muestra

para: Orquesta sinfónica

Partitura orquestal (tapa dura)

Nº de artículo663876
Autor/CompositorRalph Vaughan Williams
EditorDavid Lloyd-Jones
Alcance120 Páginas; 23,2 × 31,1 cm
Duración30 minutos
Año de lanzamiento2016
Editorial/fabricanteOxford University Press
N.º del fabricanteOUP 9780193413290
111,30 €
Plazo de envío: 2–3 días laborables (Alemania )
añadir a favoritos


Vaughan Williams wrote Symphony No. 8 between 1953 and 1955 while in his eighties. It is his shortest symphony and considered by many to be his least serious. Aside from a few sombre moments, the symphony is optimistic in mood and displays Vaughan Williams's love for exotic and colourful combinations of instruments with a percussion sections that, he said, employs "all the 'phones and 'spiels known to the composer". For this newly engraved edition, editor David Lloyd-Jones has consulted all extant sources and materials to create a score matching the composer's intentions.

The full score is completed with Textual Notes and Preface, and accompanying orchestral parts are available on hire.

Orchestration: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn(opt 3rd), 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn, timp, 4 perc [opt 5th], 2 hp, cel, str