Richard Strauss (18641949)

Oboe Concerto in D major TrV 292

Urtext edition based on HN 7248 (G. Henle Verlag, Munich)

para: Oboe, orquesta

Partitura (Urtext)

Nº de artículo776818
Autor/CompositorRichard Strauss
EditorHansjörg Schellenberger
Alcance80 Páginas; 25 × 32 cm
Duración25 minutos
Año de lanzamiento2020
Editorial/fabricanteBreitkopf & Härtel
N.º del fabricantePB 15161
48,90 €
Plazo de envío: 2–3 días laborables (Alemania )
añadir a favoritos


solo: ob – 2.cor ang.2.2 – – str

Shortly after the Second World War, Richard Strauss, then 80 years old, had remained safe in his villa in Garmisch, though cultural life in Europe had come to a complete standstill. The American occupation army seeking his villa as quarters immediately recognized his importance as composer.

Military men interested in music sought contact with him, as did the then 24-year-old oboist John de Lancie who greatly admired the composer’s works. Asking at a meeting with Strauss, whether in view of the many beautiful oboe solos in his compositions, the composer had ever thought of writing a clarinet concerto, de Lancie later recalled that Strauss had simply answered “no.”

But this question had an impact on the composer of the operas Rosenkavalier and Salome, resulting a year later in the concerto for oboe and small orchestra premiered in Zurich, with a striking oboe entry making great technical demands on soloists. The oboist, Hansjörg Schellenberger, now presents for the first time one of the most important works for oboe in an Urtext edition!