Leoš Janáček (18541928)

From The House Of The Dead

Opera in three Acts after Dostojewski
New Critical Edition

para: Solistas, coro de voces mixtas, orquesta

Partitura de estudio

Nº de artículo692246
Autor/CompositorLeoš Janáček
EditorJohn Tyrrell
Idiomasalemán, inglés, checo
Alcance520 Páginas; 17 × 24 cm
Año de creación1928
Año de lanzamiento2019
Editorial/fabricanteUniversal Edition
N.º del fabricanteUE 35556
79,95 €
En stock. Plazo de envío: 1–2 días laborables (Alemania )
añadir a favoritos


Janácek did not live to see his final opera Z mrtvého domu (From the House of the Dead) performed. The work was so different from his previous operas in its often chamber-like orchestration and its lack of an apotheosis ending that his pupils took it upon themselves to revise it for its première in Brno in 1930, reorchestrating it and, most notoriously, rewriting the ending. Ever since the shortcomings of the original published edition became apparent there have been attempts to return to what Janácek left at his death.

The new critical edition by John Tyrrell supplants the Mackerras-Tyrrell provisional edition´ (1990) with a thorough-going revision based on the score made by Janácek´s copyists under his direct supervision and corrected by him. In his previous operas Janácek had the opportunity of making minor corrections to the score during rehearsals. Because of his death extensive tidying up of many inconsistencies has been necessary here. All such editorial interventions are shown as such and are described in the Critical Report.


  • Introduction
  • Act I
  • Act II
  • Act III