Christoph Willibald Gluck (17141787), Hector Berlioz (18031869)


Tragédie (Drame-héroique) in four acts
Urtext edition

para: Solistas, coro de voces mixtas, orquesta

Reducción de piano (Urtext)

Nº de artículo444422
Autor/CompositorChristoph Willibald Gluck, Hector Berlioz
Idiomasalemán, francés
Alcance144 Páginas; 19 × 27 cm
Año de lanzamiento2011
N.º del fabricanteBA 5462-90
24,95 €
Plazo de envío: 2–3 días laborables (Alemania )
añadir a favoritos


Soprano solo (3), Alto solo, Mixed choir (SATB) (3), SATTB, SSAB, Orchestra

Hector Berlioz was enthralled by Gluck and heard his masterpieces Iphigénie en Tauride , Orphée , Alceste , and Armide in Paris. The original Italian version of Orphée gives the title role to a castrato. Gluck rewrote the part for high tenor for the performances in France. In 1859 Berlioz arranged the opera so that Orpheus could be sung by the great mezzo-soprano Pauline Viardot, with whom he worked closely at that time.

He changed the formal design by dividing the work into four instead of three acts and placing the scenes in Hades and the Elysian Fields in separate acts. He also changed certain sections of Orpheus’s part, mainly in the recitatives, and fundamentally reworked Gluck’s orchestration. Berlioz’s version of Orphée was published as volume 22a of the New Berlioz Edition in 2005. Our new vocal score is based on that volume.

This edition contains the vocal score based on the Urtext of the “New Berlioz Edition”, the original French text underlaid with singing German translation as well as a trilingual preface (Ger./Eng./Fr.).


  • Ensemble / Besetzung
  • Avant-propos
  • Vorwort / Preface
  • Index de scènes / Verzeichnis der Szenen / Index of Scenes
  • Acte premier / Erster Akt
  • Acte deuxième / Zweiter Akt
  • Acte troisième / Dritter Akt
  • Acte quatrième / Vierter Akt