Pierre Boulez (19252016)

Le Marteau sans maître (1952-55)

Fac-similé de l'épure et de la première mise au net de la partition
Veröffentlichungen der Paul Sacher Stiftung Sonderband (Faksimile) (Facsimile)

para: Alt, Flöte, Viola, Gitarre, Vibraphon, Xylophon, Schlagzeug

Leinen Hardcover im Schuber

Nº de artículo138533
Autor/CompositorPierre Boulez
EditorPascal Decroupet
Idiomasinglés, francés
Alcance214 Páginas; 39 × 31 cm
Año de lanzamiento2005
Editorial/fabricanteSchott Music
N.º del fabricanteBSV 1015
154,00 €
Plazo de envío: 2–3 días laborables (Alemania )
añadir a favoritos


Since its premiere in Baden-Baden 50 years ago, 'Le Marteau sans maître' has been considered to be one of the outstanding works of musical serialism of the post-war avant-garde. The present fac-simile volume containing comprehensive manuscript material of the work in high-quality colour reproduction is published by the Paul Sacher Foundation to mark the 80th birthday of Pierre Boulez. Apart from the pencil draft and the first fair copy in ink, this edition contains selected sketches and drafts. Offering a fascinating look into the workshop of the then 30-year-old composer, these sources are explained in detail in the accompanying commentary.Clothbound in slipcase, 190 pages, 38x30cmwith an introduction in French and English, numerous commented illustrations of sketches and documents, as well as music examples


  • Introduction
  • A "Marteau"-Digest, by Boulez Himself
  • Chronology
  • Boulez's Serial Thinking between 1952 and 1954
  • Constructing the Music
  • The Chosen Poems
  • "L'Artisanat furieux"
  • "Bourreaux de solitude"
  • "Bel édifice et les pressentiments"
  • Towards Public Appearance
  • The Pencil Draft
  • The First Ink Fair Copy
  • The Second Ink Fair Copy
  • Appendices
  • Bibliography
  • Manuscript Sources
  • Documents
  • Sketches
  • Facsimiles
  • Score A: Pencil Draft
  • Score B: First Ink Fair Copy
  • Score C: "Avant 'L'Artisanat furieux'"
  • Photocopy of the Second Ink Fair Copy, with Manuscript
  • Annotations by Pierre Boulez and Hans Rosbaud