Henryk Wieniawski (18351880)

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 D Minor op. 22 (+DVD)

Edition for Violin and Piano
Standard Violin Student Repertoire – Masterfully taught by Zakhar Bron

for: Violin, piano

Piano score, solo part, 2 DVDs

Item no.272025
Author/ComposerHenryk Wieniawski
PerformerZakhar Bron
Dimensions23 × 31 cm
Publisher/ProducerAMA Verlag
Producer No.AMA 610272
49.95 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Violin Part annotated by Zakhar Bron

The renowned violin virtuoso Zakhar Bron, who has been honoured with numerous awards and whose pupils (including Vadim Repin, Maxim Vengerov, Erik Schumann, and Mayuko Kamino) are also frequent winners of famous competitions, shows his exceptional talent as a violin teacher in the “Student Concert, taught by Zakhar Bron” series.

Wieniawski composed this famous violin concerto, which is recommended for advanced students, between 1862 and 1868, while he worked at the St Petersburg Conservatory. Contemporary music experts regarded the composer and violin virtuoso as a reckless daredevil, who was especially famous for his impassioned vibrato and incredibly fast staccato.

These technical effects combined to create spirited, romantic fantasy and a Slavic feel in his violin playing and compositions. His second violin concerto is noted for its elaborate figures and technical violin effects, which combine to create a musically detailed composition.

Two DVDs are included in which Professor Bron teaches and explains the composition bar by bar. This instalment is much more than an educational film; it provides an in-depth analysis of the concerto at the highest musical level. The fact that Professor Bron is able to teach this high level in an understandable manner is the reason for his worldwide success as a violin teacher. This is a fascinating master class of unique detail.