Ralph Vaughan Williams (18721958)

Symphony No. 8 in d minor

for: Symphonic orchestra

Study score

Item no.663869
Author/ComposerRalph Vaughan Williams
EditorDavid Lloyd-Jones
Scope120 pages; 18.9 × 24.6 cm
Release year2016
Publisher/ProducerOxford University Press
Producer No.OUP 9780193413306
29.15 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


Vaughan Williams wrote his Symphony No. 8 between 1953 and 1955, when he was in his eighties. It is his shortest symphony, and is considered by many to be his least serious. Aside from a few sombre moments, the symphony is optimistic in mood and displays Vaughan Williams's love for exotic and colourful combinations of instruments, with a percussion sections that, he said, employs 'all the 'phones and 'spiels known to the composer'. For this newly engraved edition, editor David Lloyd-Jones has consulted all extant sources and materials to create a score matching the composer's intentions.

The full score is completed with Textual Notes and Preface, and accompanying orchestral parts are available on hire.

Orchestration: 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn(opt 3rd), 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 tbn, timp, 4 perc [opt 5th], 2 hp, cel, str