Ludwig van Beethoven (17701827)

Mass in C major op. 86

Urtext based on the New Complete Edition (G. Henle Verlag)

for: 4 soloists (SATB), mixed choir (SATB), orchestra, organ

Violin 2 (orchestral part)

Item no.432660
Author/ComposerLudwig van Beethoven
EditorJeremiah W. McGrann
Scope16 pages; 25 × 32 cm
Duration40 minutes
Release year2007
Publisher/ProducerBreitkopf & Härtel
Producer No.OB 14676-16
6.50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Minimum quantity: 5 copies
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


solos: SATB – choir: SATB – – – timp – org – str

As is often the case with Beethoven's orchestral works, there are several often contradictory sources arising from the material used at the first performance and from the first edition, which call for the knowledgeable assessment of a specialist. Editor Jeremiah W. McGrann takes Breitkopf's original edition as the "main source," in spite of the shortcomings caused by a lack of time, and places particular emphasis on the aspect of the organ's figured bass.

Two authentic readings have been transmitted, and are thus both printed in the score. The newly revised orchestral material contains a new organ part that has been realized by Siegfried Petrenz and fulfills every requirement for a stylistically authentic performance.