Ludwig van Beethoven (17701827)

Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major op. 58

Urtext based on the new Complete Edition (G. Henle Verlag)

for: Piano, orchestra

Score (Urtext edition)

Item no.340295
Author/ComposerLudwig van Beethoven
EditorHans-Werner Küthen
Scope96 pages; 25 × 32 cm
Release year2003
Publisher/ProducerBreitkopf & Härtel
Producer No.PB 14620
39.90 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


solo: pno – – – timp – str

Ludwig van Beethoven wrote his Piano Concerto no. 4 in 1805, thus contemporaneously with the opera Fidelio and the Symphonies nos. 5 and 6. The first performance took place on 22 December 1808 at the now legendary "academy" (subscription concert) in which Beethoven presented the two new symphonies and the Choral Fantasy op. 80 to the Viennese public for the first time. The work was first published that year by Breitkopf & Härtel.

The autograph of the score is no longer extant. The principal source of the musical text on which the present edition is based is a scribal copy examined and corrected by Beethoven.

The piano reduction and the study score („Studien-Edition”) are available at G. Henle Verlag.