Silvestrov, Valentin


Werke von 1961 bis 1979
Vol. 1

for: Piano

Item no.432889
Author/ComposerSilvestrov, Valentin
EditorTatjana Frumkis
Scope112 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Release year2006
Producer No.BEL 681-10
29.95 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


The works in this volume are arranged in chronological order and to some extent on the basis of their stylistic character. Five Pieces (1961), Triad (1962) and Elegy (1967), which Silvestrov retrospectively calls “lyrical dodecaphony”, were composed in the short period in which he familiarized himself with the musical language of the 20th century. According to Silvestrov, the Sonatas (I-III 1972, 1975, 1979) which follow were written under the aegis of “stylistic identity”. The piano cycle Kitschmusik (1977) is one of the most impressive examples of his “metaphorical style” (V. Silvestrov). Although they come from various creative periods, the works all demonstrate his unique way of thinking and composing. This becomes apparent in the way he notates even the most minute nuances in the areas of duration, dynamics, and tempo. Particular attention must be paid to his use of the pedal: the composer is of the opinion that it plays a role as a separate overtone voice. In this edition the works composed in the 1960s have been revised. Performance marks which occur in Silvestrov’s later works (such as “leggiero” and “dolce”) have been added, as have a number of tempo, dynamic and pedal marks”. (Tatiana Frumkis)


  • Sonate Nr. 1 (1972)
  • Sonate Nr. 2 (1975)
  • Sonate Nr. 3 (1979) (alle drei Sonaten wurden vom Komponisten 1999 revidiert)
  • Fünf Stücke (1961; rev. 1999)
  • Triade (1962; rev. 1999)
  • Elegie (1967; rev. 1999)
  • "Kitschmusik" (1977)