Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (18401893)

Souvenir d'un lieu cher op. 42

mit bezeichnetem und unbezeichnetem Solopart

for: Violin, piano

Piano score, solo part (Urtext edition)

Item no.674139
Author/ComposerPyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
EditorAlexander Komarov
Scope26/9/9 pages; 23.5 × 31 cm
Release year2019
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 1275
14.00 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


"Memory of a dear place" is the title given to this collection of three enchanting pieces for violin and piano. The "place" in question was the country estate of Brailov that belonged to Tchaikovsky's patron and friend Nadezhda von Meck. He stayed there in idyllic seclusion in May 1878 and completed this work. These pieces were composed very close in time to his Violin Concerto, and they too demonstrate Tchaikovsky’s matchless gifts as a Romantic master of melody.

For this edition, the Russian Tchaikovsky specialist Alexander Komarov offers the highest degree of editorial precision, having drawn on all the relevant sources from both Russian and international archives. In the course of his work he has also been able to disprove beyond a doubt the view held up to now that the title Souvenir d'un lieu cher was only added after Tchaikovsky's death.


  • Méditation op. 42,1
  • Scherzo op. 42,2
  • Mélodie op. 42,3