American Folk Tunes

37 Traditional Pieces
Schott World Music

for: Ukulele

Music score, Playback-CD

Item no.644569
EditorColin Tribe
Languagesgerman, english, french
Scope68 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Publisher/ProducerSchott Music
Producer No.ED 13785
19.50 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


American Folk Tunes for Ukulele presents a collection of 37 pieces for solo fingerstyle ukulele playing. Drawn from the rich tradition of American folk music the collection covers a range of styles including some popular, as well as lesser known pieces. Experienced ukulele player and teacher Colin Tribe provide notes on all of the pieces, as well as technical aspects of the playing style. This volume is accompanied by a CD with a recording of all tunes. German and French translations of all texts are available as PDF downloads from the Schott Music website. Suitable for players of grades 3-8.


  • Introduction
  • Arkansas Traveller
  • Aura Lee
  • Beautiful Dreamer
  • Blow the Man Down
  • Camptown Ladies
  • Dixie
  • Eighth of January
  • Down By the Riverside
  • Frankie and Johnny
  • Go Tell it on the Mountain
  • Home on the Range
  • House of the Rising Sun
  • I've Been Working on the Railroad
  • John Brown's Body
  • Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier
  • Little Brown Jug
  • Marching Through Georgia
  • My Grandfather's Clock
  • Michael Row the Boat Ashore
  • On Top of Old Smokey
  • Oh My Darling Clementine
  • Oh Susanna
  • Shenandoah
  • She'll Be Coming 'Round the Mountain
  • Simple Gifts
  • Sing Hosanna
  • St. James Infirmary
  • Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  • The Yellow Rose of Texas
  • The Midnight Special
  • The Old Grey Goose
  • Tom Dooley
  • Wayfaring Stranger
  • When Johnny Comes Marching Home
  • When the Saints Go Marching in
  • Whistling Rufus
  • Yankee Doodle