Valentin Silvestrov (b.1937)

Bagatellen op. 1 - 5

for: Piano

Music score

Item no.491833
Author/ComposerValentin Silvestrov
Scope56 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Duration33 minutes
Release year2009
Producer No.BEL 686
24.95 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


In this edition, Silvestrov has compiled for the first time five cycles from a multitude of 'Bagatellen', his favourite genre in recent years - and even recorded them on CD (ECM). What mainly interests him in the bagatelles is the melody, though not as something complete but rather as an answer to 'momentarily' flashing intonations, calls, motifs which the composer can no longer get out of his ear. The short form makes it possible to capture the 'moment' or 'moment musical' as such and 'bring it to a halt' (Verweile doch! Du bist so schön!... according to Goethe). Thus, the harmless miniatures are not just mere nothings (fr. bagatelle = trivial matters, trifles), they become – as Silvestrov said half in jest - 'sublime trivia in which there is nothing except … music.' (Tatjana Frumkis)


  • I 3 Bagatellen op. 1 (2005): Allegretto
  • Moderato
  • Moderato
  • II 4 Stücke op. 2 (2006): Wiegenlied
  • Pastorale
  • Bagatelle
  • Postludium
  • III 3 Walzer mit Postludium op. 3 (2005-2006): Allegretto
  • Moderato
  • Vivace
  • Moderato
  • IV 3 Bagatellen op. 4 (Jan. 2006): Moderato
  • Animato
  • Andantino
  • V Postludium op. 5 (2005): Adagio