Robert Schumann (18101856)

Three Romances op. 94

for Oboe and Piano
Version for Clarinet

for: Clarinet, piano

Piano score, solo part

Item no.401423
Author/ComposerRobert Schumann
EditorGeorg Meerwein
Scope19/4/4 pages
Release year2002
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 442
13.00 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


With clarinet parts in A and B

Robert Schumann in fact composed just one work for the clarinete, namely the “Drei Fantasiestücke” op. 73 for clarinet and piano of February 1849. But the “Drei Romanzen” op. 94 for oboe, written at the end of that same year, were marketed with solo parts for clarinet and for violin too.

Clarinettists are certainly delighted that G. Henle Verlag is following this principle of alternative scoring. The manuscript that Robert gave to his wife Clara in 1849 as a Christmas gift does not survive. Instead, autograph sketches have been consulted for our Urtext edition, and these have enabled correction of some irregularities in the 1851 first edition.

The editor’s preface and commentarygive extensive information on textual questions.