Robert Schumann (18101856)

Fairy-Tale Pictures

for viola (violin) and piano
(with inlaid viola and alternative violin part)

for: Viola [violin], piano

Piano score, Solo parts

Item no.680168
Author/ComposerRobert Schumann
EditorArmin Koch
Scope54 pages; 23 × 31 cm
Year of origin1851
Release year2018
Publisher/ProducerSchott Music
Producer No.VAB 93
16.00 €
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


In the summer of 1852, Vier Stücke [‘Four Pieces’] for viola and piano by Robert Schumann were published under the title Märchenbilder [‘Fairy-Tale Pictures’] by the Kassel publishing house Luckhardt, with a particularly expressive vignette on the title page. Unusual were both this title Märchenbilder, on the one hand, and the scoring with a solo viola, on the other. With the viola in a soloistic role in chamber music, Schumann’s Märchenbilder, Op. 113, offers a rather unfamiliar, but all the more delightful sound.