Heinrich Schütz (15851672)

Sammlet zuvor das Unkraut SWV 376

No. 8 from "Geistliche Chor-Music"
Bärenreiter Urtext

for: Mixed choir (SATTB), basso continuo; 5 melodic instruments (colla parte) ad lib.

Choir score (Urtext edition)

Item no.696753
Author/ComposerHeinrich Schütz
EditorWerner Breig
Scope8 pages; 21 × 29.5 cm
Year of origin1646
Release year2019
Producer No.BA 25005
2.95 €
Minimum quantity: 10 copies
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


-Separate edition from BA 5901, „Geistliche Chor-Music“ SWV 369-380, The five-part motets, Nos. 1-12

  • Reflects the latest in musicological research based on the “New Schütz Edition”
  • Instrumental parts (strings, winds) available
  • Continuo Realization: Antje Wissemann

In 1648 Heinrich Schütz published a collection of 29 motets with five to seven parts titled “Geistliche Chor-Music” (Sacred Choir Music). Here, the term “Chor” (choir) refers not only to a (large) vocal ensemble but, more generally, to a group of musicians, vocal or instrumental. As explained by Schütz in the foreword he published with the collection, all parts of the motets can be performed vocally and/or instrumentally.