Carl Schachter (b.1932)

The Art of Tonal Analysis

Twelve Lessons in Schenkerian Theory


Item no.681776
Author/ComposerCarl Schachter
EditorJoseph Nathan Straus
Scope312 pages; 18 × 25 cm
Release year2018
Publisher/ProducerOxford University Press
Producer No.OUP9780190909178
32.00 €
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


  • Presents edited transcripts of thirteen storied lectures given by the renowned music theorist Carl Schachter
  • Includes copious music examples illustrating the material discussed
  • Makes the teachings of a masterful tonal theorist and teacher available to a wide audience.
  • Winner of the Society for Music Theory's 2017 Citation of Special Merit


  • Prelude Editor's Preface
  • Lesson One: Linear Progressions and Neighbor Notes
  • Lesson Two: J.S. Bach, Menuet in C minor from French Suite No. 2 and Chopin, Etude, Op. 10, No. 12
  • Lesson Three: Chopin, G#-minor and E-major Preludes from Op. 28
  • Lesson Four: Schubert, Sonata in Bb major, Scherzo
  • Lesson Five: Handel, Suite No. 8 for Harpsichord, Courante
  • Lesson Six: J.S. Bach, Gavotte en Rondeaux from Violin Partita No. 3 in E major
  • Lesson Seven: Mozart, Sonata for Violin and Piano, K. 481, Adagio
  • Lesson Eight: Beethoven, String Quartet, Op. 18, No. 6, first movement
  • Lesson Nin: Beethoven, String Quartet, Op. 18, No. 6, fourth movement
  • ("La Malinconia")
  • Lesson Ten: Rhythm, Hypermeter, and Phrase
  • Lesson Eleven: Haydn, Symphony No. 99, Adagio
  • Lesson Twelve: Beethoven, Piano Sonata, Op. 53 ("Waldstein"), first movement
  • Postlude. Q and A
  • Glossary
  • Works Cited
  • Index