Josef Rheinberger (18391901), Johannes Brahms (18331897), Heinrich von Herzogenberg (18431900)

O schöne Nacht

Romantic Chorla Music


Item no.767111
Author/ComposerJosef Rheinberger, Johannes Brahms, Heinrich von Herzogenberg
Dimensions14 × 12.5 cm
Release year2020
Publisher/ProducerCarus Verlag
Producer No.CV 83.510
19.90 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


“O charming night” – like a common thread, the romantic motifs of yearning for peace, farewell to lovers and mystical experiences of nature run through the works in this recording. With particular sensitivity and subtle harmonic effects, Rheinberger brings the world of elves and mermaids to life.

Brahms’s “charming night,” moonlit and enhanced by the song of the nightingale, serves as the backdrop for an implied amorous adventure. And Herzogenberg’s Notturnos evoke an entirely otherworldly reverie.

The Orpheus Vokalensemble under the direction of Michael Alber, accompanied by Antonii Baryshevskyi at the piano, has now presented this genuinely romantic choral music on CD; the Rheinberger recordings are world premiere recordings.


  • Abendlied (Brahms)
  • Das Vöglein (Herzogenberg)
  • Der Weidenbaum op.106,2 (Rheinberger)
  • Die tote Braut op.81 (Rheinberger)
  • Harald op.106,1 (Rheinberger)
  • Intermezzo (Herzogenberg)
  • Meeresleuchten (Herzogenberg)
  • Mummelsee op.95,1 (Rheinberger)
  • Nacht ist wie ein stilles Meer (Herzogenberg)
  • Nachtlied (Herzogenberg)
  • Nächtens (Brahms)
  • O schöne Nacht (Brahms)
  • Orpheus Vokalensemble
  • Sehnsucht (Brahms)
  • Spätherbst (Brahms)
  • Wie schön, hier zu verträumen (Herzogenberg)
  • Wär's dunkel, ich läge im Walde (Herzogenberg)