Henry Purcell (16591695)

The Purcell Collection – Medium/ Low Voice

45 Songs
Realizations by Benjamin Britten

for: Voice (medium/low), piano

Music score

Item no.489729
Author/ComposerHenry Purcell
ArrangerBenjamin Britten
Scope258 pages
Release year2008
Publisher/ProducerBoosey & Hawkes
Producer No.BHI 93377
37.95 €
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Reprinted in one edition, here is a collection of 45 of the distinctive Purcell realizations by Benjamin Britten, with vocal parts edited by Peter Pears, that have been out of print for some years. Includes 9 songs from Harmonia Sacra, 24 solo songs and six duets from Orpheus Britannicus, “The Queen's Epicedium,” and selections from Dido and Aeneas and The Fairy Queen.


  • 'Tis holiday
  • A Morning Hymn
  • Ah, Belinda! I am prest with torment
  • Alleluia
  • But ere we this perform
  • Dialogue of Corydon and Mopsa
  • Evening Hymn
  • Fairest Isle
  • Fear no danger to ensue
  • Hark the ech'ing air
  • How blest are shepherds
  • I attempt from love's sickness
  • I spy Celia
  • I take no pleasure
  • I'll sail upon the Dog-star
  • If music be the food of love (1st version)
  • If music be the food of love (3rd version)
  • In the black dismal dungeon of despair
  • Job's Curse
  • Let sullen discord smile
  • Lord, what is man
  • Lost is my quiet
  • Mad Bess
  • Man is for the woman made
  • Music for a while
  • No, resistance is but vain
  • Not all my torments
  • On the brow of Richmond Hill
  • Pious Celinda
  • Saul and the Witch at Endor
  • Shepherd, leave decoying
  • So when the glittering Queen of Night
  • Sound fame thy brazen trumpet
  • Sound the trumpet
  • Sweeter than roses
  • Take not a woman's anger ill
  • The Blessed Virgin's Expostulation
  • The Queen's Epicedium
  • There's not a swain of the plain
  • Thou tun'st this world
  • Turn then thine eyes
  • We sing to him
  • What can we poor females do?
  • When I am laid in earth
  • Why should men quarrel?