Ignaz Josef Pleyel (17571831)

Six easy Duets “op. 48”

for: 2 violins

Score, Parts (Urtext edition)

Item no.764769
Author/ComposerIgnaz Josef Pleyel
EditorNorbert Gertsch
Scope27/14/14 pages; 23.5 × 31 cm
Release year2020
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 1390
16.50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


These easy duets were published around 1796/97 by Pleyel’s own publishing house both as Six Duos faciles et progressives for two violins and as Six nouvelles Sonatines progressives for piano and violin, though we do not know today which version came first. To this day, the violin duets are favorites for use in violin lessons, but also for making music at home.

Though lesser known today, around 1800 Ignaz Pleyel numbered among the most popular composers in Western Europe - which may at first come as a surprise, but which to judge from these very appealing pieces, manageable for advanced beginners, is easily understandable. With an unmarked score and two marked solo parts, the Urtext edition provides optimal material for use in teaching.

Evelyne Grüb-Trauer (Fingering and bowing for Violin)