Michael Nyman (b.1944)

Where the Bee Dances

for: Soprano saxophone, chamber orchestra


Item no.693734
Author/ComposerMichael Nyman
Scope116 pages
Duration24 minutes
Year of origin1991
Release year2017
Publisher/ProducerChester Music
Producer No.CH 76296
50.99 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


This saxophone concerto, written in one continuous movement with a wide variety of tempi, celebrates the talents of John Harle, who has been a central player in the Michael Nyman Band for over ten years.

Composed in 1991, the title is in refence to the spiraling dance of a scout bee who has discovered a food source and intends to communicate this back to the members of the hive. These circluar motions are reflected in figurations of the work.

It was first performed in 2002 by the Central England Ensemble with Sarah James as the soloist.