Modest Mussorgsky (18391881)

Pictures at an Exhibition

In Commemoration of Viktor Hartmann. Edited from the autograph
Wiener Urtext Edition

for: Piano

Music score (Urtext edition)

Item no.125067
Author/ComposerModest Mussorgsky
EditorManfred Schandert
Scope60 pages; 23 × 31 cm
Year of origin1874
Release year1984
Publisher/ProducerWiener Urtext Edition
Producer No.UT 50076
17.95 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Modest Mussorgsky composed the piano cycle Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s wystawki) within a short period of time, between 2nd and 22nd June 1874. At the instigation of the art critic Vladimir Stassov a commemorative exhibition was put on of drawings, watercolours, designs etc. by the composer's friend Viktor Hartmann (1834-1873), who had died unexpectedly. Mussorgsky decided to pay his own tribute to Hartmann in the form of a succession of piano pieces portraying some of the artist's work in music.

The original title given to the cycle was Hartmann. It was probably in 1870 and through Stassov that Mussorgsky had first made the acquaintance of Hartmann, who had studied at the art college in St. Petcrsburg and was actually an architect. For the piano cycle Mussorgsky selected mainly drawings and watercolours which Hartmann had produced during his travels abroad - in Italy, France and elsewhere. The present edition is based on a printed facsimile of the autograph manuscript (cf. Criticals Notes).


  • Promenade
  • Nr. 1 Gnomus/Der Zwerg
  • Promenade
  • Nr. 2 Il vecchio castello/Das alte Schloss
  • Promenade
  • Nr. 3 Tuileries/Streit der Kinder nach dem Spiel
  • Nr. 4 Bydlo
  • Promenade
  • Nr. 5 Ballett der nicht ausgeschlüpften Küchlein
  • Nr. 6 Samuel Goldenberg und Schmuyle
  • Promenade
  • Nr. 7 Limoges/Der Marktplatz
  • Nr. 8 Catacombae/Die Katakomben
  • Con mortius in lingua mortua/Mit den Toten in einer toten Sprache
  • Nr. 9 Die Hütte auf Hühnerfüßen
  • Nr. 10 Das Bogaty-Tor