Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (17561791)

Streichquartette 2

Frühe Wiener Quartette

for: 2 violins, viola, cello (string quartet)

Set of parts

Item no.764776
Author/ComposerWolfgang Amadeus Mozart
EditorWolf-Dieter Seiffert
Scope37/32/28/28 pages; 23.5 × 31 cm
Release year2019
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 1121
28.00 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


After Volumes IV and III of the series with Mozart’s complete string quartets appeared as Henle Urtext editions in early 2017 and 2019 respectively, Mozart expert Wolf-Dieter Seiffert now presents Volume II – in full score and individual parts. Included are the “Early Viennese Quartets” from 1773, K. 168–173. Entries in the autograph manuscript by the composer’s father Leopold, however, suggest that the ordering of the six works into a unified series of quartets was his doing. In his preface, Wolf-Dieter Seiffert shares brand-new findings on the actual chronology of the genesis of these quartets. Moreover, he succeeds in correcting what in prior editions were occasional inaccuracies in dynamics and articulation, thereby producing a new, assured musical text. With artistic input from the Armida Quartet, Volume II of the String Quartets also sets the benchmark in the Mozart Edition!


  • Streichquartett F-dur KV 168
  • Streichquartett A-dur KV 169
  • Streichquartett C-dur KV 170
  • Streichquartett Es-dur KV 171
  • Streichquartett B-dur KV 172
  • Streichquartett d-moll KV 173