Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (17561791)

Marsch KV 248 und Divertimento KV 247

Erste Lodronische Nachtmusik
für zwei Hörner in F, zwei Violinen, Viola und Violoncello (Kontrabass)

for: 2 horns, 2 violins, viola, cello/ double bass

Study score (Urtext edition)

Item no.682809
Author/ComposerWolfgang Amadeus Mozart
EditorFelix Loy
Scope64 pages
Release year2018
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 7150
14.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


The Divertimento K. 247 in B-flat major was composed for the name day of Countess Antonia Lodron, and was first performed on 18 June 1776 in Salzburg. The little March K. 248 was presumably used to accompany the arrival and departure of the musicians on that occasion – it shares the same date of composition as the Divertimento, is in the same key, and is scored for the same instruments. Mozart later returned several times to this “First Lodron night music”, and posterity appreciated it too: the Divertimento was published just a few years after his death, and was also available in numerous 19th century copies.

The only authorised sources for our Urtext edition, however, were the two autographs. Here, incidentally, the lowest part is designated “Basso”, which leaves open the question as to whether it was to be played by a cello, a double bass or both – a typical case of “as you like it” in the music of the 18th century!