Bob Mintzer (b.1953)

Playing on the Changes

for: Tenor saxophone [soprano saxophone]

Music lesson book, DVD

Item no.655038
Author/ComposerBob Mintzer
Scope60 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Release year2015
Publisher/ProducerAlfred Music
Producer No.ALF 43721
29.95 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


13 Jazz-Etüden mit praktischen Tipps und Erläuterungen. Die auf der DVD verwendete TNT 2 Software ermöglicht es Ihnen, das Saxophonspiel von Mintzer auszublenden und mit der Rhythmusgruppe mitzuspielen. Mittels diPlaying on the Changes features 13 jazz etudes through the various chord qualities found in standards and jazz tunes in all 12 keys. Areas covered include major 7th chords, minor 7th chords, dominant 7th chords (Mixolydian, altered dominant, and half-whole diminished), minor ii (flat-5) chords, tritone substitutions, and a variety of progressions using all of the above. Bob Mintzer has written out etude solos that traverses the changes in a way that familiarizes you with the sound of each harmonic setting. Each etude is modeled after ideas---such as melodic and rhythmic patterns that create continuity---and singable melodies that he recommends using when improvising through the chord changes. Using the TNT 2 software, listen to and analyze the etudes, and by removing Mintzer's saxophone from the mix, you can then practice and play on these harmonic exercises on your own with a stellar rhythm section. The amazing TNT 2 software allows you to slow down the tempo, too!eser Software können Sie sogar das Tempo variieren.


  • Introduction
  • Bio
  • Etude 1: Dorian Mode
  • Etude 2: Major 7th
  • Etude 3: Altered Dominant
  • Etude 4: Half-Whole Diminished
  • Etude 5: Minor 7th Chords a Minor Third Apart
  • Etude 6: Major 7th Chords a Minor Third Apart
  • Etude 7: ii--V--I--VI Minor Thirds Apart
  • Etude 8: Dominant 7th Chords in Cycle of Fourths
  • Etude 9: Minor ii7(b5)--V
  • Etude 10: Minor 7th Chords Up 2 Down 1
  • Etude 11: Major 7th Chords Down 2 Up 1
  • Etude 12: Tritone Subs
  • Etude 13: Dorian with Changes on the End
  • Discography