Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (18091847)

A Midsummer Night's Dream op. 61

for: Piano 4 hands

Ensemble score

Item no.763415
Author/ComposerFelix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
EditorBodo Koenigsbeck
Scope95 pages; 30 × 23 cm
Release year2020
Publisher/ProducerAccolade Musikverlag
Producer No.ACC. 1820
49.00 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


In the bourgeoisie of the 19th and early 20th centuries, there was a high demand of arrangements of well-known works from opera and the concert stages for piano solo or piano four hands, as one could perform with these compositions and enjoy them at any time. Thus, four movements (Scherzo, Intermezzo, Notturno and Wedding March) from the music for Shakespeares A Midsummer Nights Dream were published almost simultaneously with the orchestra score in an arrangement for piano four hands.

Even though arrangements from this period are no longer as popular as they were in the past, the Midsummer Nights Dream, whose wedding march is one of the most famous classical pieces ever, is still the best entertainment for players and audience today. Based on the first editions we revised the dynamics an articulation based on the orchestra score and changed the partitioning of the parts for clarity.


  • ​Ouvertüre: Allegro di molto
  • ​Scherzo: Allegro vivace
  • ​Elfenmarsch: Allegro vivace
  • ​Lied mit Chor: Allegro ma non troppo
  • ​Intermezzo: Allegro appassionato
  • ​Notturno: Con moto tranquillo
  • ​Hochzeitsmarsch: Allegro vivace
  • ​Marcia funebre: Andante comodo
  • ​Ein Tanz von Rüpeln (Bergamasca): Allegro molto
  • ​Intermezzo: Allegro vivace
  • ​Finale: Allegro di molto