Mayer John


(Die Stadt Kalkutta)

for: Piano

Music score

Item no.159523
Author/ComposerMayer John
Scope24 pages
Publisher/ProducerAnton J. Benjamin
Producer No.EE 4022
16,50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Deutschland )
add to watch list


Calcutta-Nagar, which means The City of Calcutta, was written for and dedicated to the composer's wife Gillian. It is a work of eighteen rather short movements. Mayer tries to describe musically the atmosphere of each place in the city of his birth.


  • The Mocambo
  • Nizam's Kati Kebab
  • Digamba
  • Che-ne Para
  • Naya Bazaar
  • The Rickshaw-Wallahs
  • Calcutta Gharana
  • Garib Log
  • A.J.C. Sarani
  • Girja
  • Trincas
  • Chancni Bazaar
  • Kai Mandir
  • Hooghley Nadi
  • B.B.C. Bag
  • The Ghora-Garis
  • Nakhoda Mosque
  • Tin Kana Chuha