Johann Mattheson (16811764)

Sonata A-Dur

Il Flauto Traverso

for: Flute [violin], basso continuo

Single part(n)

Item no.393355
Author/ComposerJohann Mattheson
EditorRuf Hugo
Scope22 pages
Release year1968
Publisher/ProducerSchott Music
Producer No.FTR 58
19.50 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Johann Mattheson (1681-1764) became known especially as a theoretician with works such as 'Der vollkommene Capellmeister' or his basso continuo method. However, Mattheson was not just a knowledgeable theoretician but also a practitioner of the musical art from childhood. He knew Johann Sebastian Bach, Georg Philipp Telemann and Georg Friedrich Handel in person or was even bound to them by ties of friendship. He wrote operas, church and chamber music as well as sonatas for keyboard or melodic instruments.This sonata shows the typical form of the 'sonata da chiesa'. After the initial cantabile adagio, the following allegro gives room for a lively performance. The brief grave section is an expressive counterpoint before an enthusiastic giga allows a sparkling display of virtuoso skills. A rewarding piece for lessons and concerts.