Sebastian Lee (18051887)

First Steps in Violoncello Playing op. 101

opus 101

for: 1–2 cellos

Ensemble score

Item no.499212
Author/ComposerSebastian Lee
Scope36 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Release year2013
Publisher/ProducerSchott Music
Producer No.ED 21701
15.50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Sebastian Lee was born in Hamburg in 1805 and trained by the Romberg pupil Johann Nikolaus Prell. A soloist and teacher, he published his Cello Method Op. 30 in 1845 which is still available at Schott (ED 965).His barely known anthology 'First Steps in Violoncello Playing' opus 101 contains 50 easy duets in the first position. The first cello part is easy to play while the second part is somewhat more demanding, yet still playable by pupils. A beautiful collection for beginner's lessons, with very melodious pieces covering all technical and musical aspects of cello playing.