Jon Laukvik (b.1952)

Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing 1

Baroque and Classical Era

for: Organ

Book and music score

Item no.237869
Author/ComposerJon Laukvik
Scope320/80 pages; 19 × 27 cm
Release year1996
Publisher/ProducerCarus Verlag
Producer No.CV 60.003/00
79.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Volume 1 is organized into two main sections: Part A treats general technical and musical principles, while Part B explores the stylistic differences of interpretation between music of the early and high Baroque eras, the organ music of J. S. Bach and the late Baroque, as well as the organ music of the Classic era. The enclosed volume of music contains a selection of the works referred to in the book.

Jon Laukvik’s Historical Performance Practice in Organ Playing has become a standard work. It is addressed to organists who wish to integrate the latest knowledge of historical performance practice into their playing today. The insights of this three-volume series are the resultof practical and scholarly research which present to the performer in a detailed, easily understandable form a precise view of the customs and goals of performance in previous eras.

These volumes are directed not only to organists, but also to organ teachers who are looking for a guide for use in their instruction.


Content of the Music score:

  • Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel: Sonata in g
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian: O Mensch, bewein' dein' Sünde groß
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian: Applicatio
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian: Praeludium in C
  • Bach, Johann Sebastian: Praeludium in c
  • Buchner, Johannes: Quem terra pontus
  • Bull, John: A preludium
  • Clérambault, Louis-Nicolas: Suite du deuxième ton
  • Clérambault, Louis-Nicolas: Suite du premier ton
  • Correa de Arauxo, Francisco: Tiento
  • Correa de Arauxo, Francisco: Tres glosas
  • Frescobaldi, Girolamo: Toccata terza
  • Marchand, Louis: Fond d'orgue
  • Muffat, Georg: Toccata tertia
  • Purcell, Henry: Voluntary for Double Organ
  • Sweelinck, Jan Pieterszoon: Ballo del granduca