Ferdinand Küchler (18671937)

Concertino D major op 15

in the style of Antonio Vivaldi
Schott Student Edition

for: Violin, piano

Piano score, solo part

Item no.686630
Author/ComposerFerdinand Küchler
EditorPeter Mohrs
Languagesgerman, english, french
Scope20/4 pages; 23 × 31 cm
Release year2019
Publisher/ProducerSchott Music
Producer No.SE 1042
9.50 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


With Preface and Teaching Notes

Ferdinand Küchler is regarded as one of the great violin teachers of the 20th century. Apart from his Violin Method, it is, above all, his concertinos that are an absolute must for the development of any violin pupil, especially his famous Concertino in G major Op. 11 (Schott SE 1001) as well as his Concertino in D major Op.

15 which both enjoy great popularity. Composed "in the style of Antonio Vivaldi", the work has, without doubt, been one of the most frequently played works in student violin literature for decades.

It is the perfect educational link to Vivaldi's somewhat more difficult "student concertos". The completely baroque-style movements appeal to every pupil. The fast outer movements contain rewarding, always seemingly violinistic runs and idiomatic figurations. The appeal of the slow middle movement lies in its simple, yet tonally demanding Siciliano theme.

The works requires knowledge of the 2nd and 3rd positions and is here presented in a new modern edition. Bowing, articulation and fingerings are based on today's experience of interpreting Vivaldi's music, providing creative space and possibilities for personal ideas in modern violin lessons.

This edition is part of the new Schott Student Edition series which offers varied literature at five different levels of difficulty, from 1 (easy) to 5 (difficult), for instrumental lessons.


  • Allegro moderato
  • Siciliano
  • Allegro assai