Michael Kennedy (19262014)

The Life of Elgar

Reading sample

Musical Lives

Boek (softcover)

Item no.771047
Author/ComposerMichael Kennedy
Scope240 pages; 14.1 × 21.5 cm
Release year2004
Publisher/ProducerCambridge University Press
Producer No.9780521009072
34.80 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


This important biography of Elgar draws on letters and documents which became available in the preceding twenty-five years. Michael Kennedy, a leading scholar of British music and a distinguished musical biographer, uses this material, which includes Elgar's own vast correspondence, in an attempt to get to the centre of the composer's complex personality. Elgar's letters reveal his unpredictable swings of mood, from gaiety and a fondness for puns to morose self-pity and a feeling that he was 'not wanted', and although much of Elgar's music sounds confident and coherent, it also has an underlying layer of unease, melancholy and insecurity. His relationships with his wife and other women friends are a continuing thread in the life of a man who remained acutely conscious of his lower middle-class origins in spite of his meteoric rise to fame, honours in Edward VII's reign and friendship with the King.

  • A fresh study of Elgar drawing on recently published letters and documents
  • Kennedy is one of the UK's foremost music critics and has written numerous musical biographies. His highly acclaimed study of Richard Strauss (CUP, 1999) has sold nearly 5,000 copies
  • Illustrated with 30 photographs, some of them rare


  • 1 'Boyhood's Daze'
  • 2 Helen
  • 3 Alice
  • 4 Caractacus
  • 5 Enigma
  • 6 'The best of me'
  • 7 Darkness at noon
  • 8 The last oratorio
  • 9 Symphony
  • 10 Windflower
  • 11 Second Symphony
  • 12 For the Fallen
  • 13 Brinkwells
  • 14 Post mortem
  • 15 Vera