Edward Huws Jones (b.1948)

The Seafaring Fiddler

Violin Edition
Fiddler Collection

for: Violin

Music score, CD

Item no.632655
Author/ComposerEdward Huws Jones
Scope44 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Release year2015
Publisher/ProducerBoosey & Hawkes
Producer No.BH 12951
18.00 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


For this brand new collection of fiddle tunes from the golden age of sail Edward Huws Jones has researched and compiled an eclectic selection of sea shanties, ‘forebitters’, jigs, reels, hornpipes, songs and other melodies which were traditionally played as accompaniment to hard labour or times of recreation for sailors at sea.The Violin edition includes optional easy violin part and guitar chords, whilst the complete edition includes both keyboard and violin accompaniments. Both editions are packaged with a CD containing high quality performance and accompaniment tracks.


  • Don't you see the ships a-coming?
  • Farewell, lovely Nancy
  • Henry Martin
  • Hornpipe (A. Sullivan)
  • Jack Tar
  • Litten's hornpipe
  • Portsmouth (H. Playford)
  • Row well, ye mariners
  • Santy Anna
  • South Australia
  • Spanish ladies
  • The Greenland whale fishery
  • The Liverpool hornpipe
  • The leaving of Liverpool
  • The new-rigged ship
  • The quayside
  • The sailors' dance (H. Purcell)
  • The shores of Botany Bay
  • The sloop John B
  • The three sea captains
  • The tipsy sailor
  • We be three poor mariners (T. Ravenscroft)