Edward Huws Jones (b.1948)

The Greek Fiddler

Complete Edition
Fiddler Collection

for: Violin, piano

Music score

Item no.477852
Author/ComposerEdward Huws Jones
Scope116 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Release year2008
Publisher/ProducerBoosey & Hawkes
Producer No.BH 11786
25.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


The latest addition to the best-selling Fiddler series focuses on the rich, diverse and pure folk tradition of Greece. A wide variety of styles is presented, featuring music from Crete, the Peloponnese, the Balkans, Asia Minor and mainland Greece. Exciting rhythms and interesting modes combine to produce high spirited pieces, some of which will already be familiar to lovers of Greek culture world-wide. The Violin Edition offers flexible arrangements for violin solo or two violins (second violin part is very easy), as well as chord symbols for a guitar accompaniment. In addition the Complete Edition also contains a piano accompaniment.


  • Preface, notes
  • Préface, notes
  • Vorwort, Anmerkungen
  • Corfu and Cefalonia
  • The sultan's wife
  • All the water in the sea
  • Arcadian dance
  • The willow tree
  • Pentozali
  • Lament
  • Night calls
  • The girl from Samos
  • Karpathian song
  • Nobody else but me
  • Zeibekikos
  • Syrtos
  • Magkiko
  • To the ends of the earth
  • Kozanis