Peter Holman

Dowland – Lachrimae (1604)

Reading sample

Cambridge Music Handbooks

Boek (softcover)

Item no.771171
Author/ComposerPeter Holman
Scope120 pages; 14 × 21.6 cm
Release year1999
Publisher/ProducerCambridge University Press
Producer No.9780521588294
32.00 €
Delivery time approx. 1–2 weeks.
add to watch list


Dowland's Lachrimae (1604) is perhaps the greatest but most enigmatic publication of instrumental music from before the eighteenth century. This new handbook, the first detailed study of the collection, investigates its publication history, its instrumentation, its place in the history of Renaissance dance music, and its reception history. Two extended chapters examine the twenty-one pieces in the collection in detail, discussing the complex internal relationships between the cycle of seven 'Lachrimae' pavans, the relationships between them and other pieces inside and outside the collection, and possible connections between the Latin titles of the seven pavans and Elizabethan conceptions of melancholy. The extraordinarily multi-faceted nature of the collection also leads the author to illuminate questions of patronage, the ordering and format of the collection, pitch and transposition, tonality and modality, and even numerology.

  • Lachrimae (1604) is the earliest collection of instrumental music generally known to non-specialists
  • The is the first detailed study of a collection of Renaissance instrumental music
  • The book is a fascinating exploration of many aspects of Renaissance music and intellectual life


  • Introduction
  • 1 The document
  • 2 The instruments
  • 3 The dance types
  • 4 The seven 'passionate pavans'
  • 5 'Divers other pavans, galiards, and almands'
  • 6 Reception