Franz Anton Hoffmeister (17541812)

Double Bass Concerto "no. 1" (with Violin obbligato)

for Double Bass and orchestra
(with Violin obbligato)
in C and D (with parts in solo- and orchestral tuning)
Download of part in Viennese tuning (A-d-f#-a)

for: Double bass, piano

Piano score, solo part (Urtext edition)

Item no.151813
Author/ComposerFranz Anton Hoffmeister
EditorTobias Glöckler, Gloeckler T. Kadenzen + Fingersatz Kb / Sobanski C.
Piano scoreChristoph Sobanski
Scope80 pages; 23.5 × 31 cm
Release year2003
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 721
21.50 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Thanks to its wealth of invention, elegant workmanship, and technical and musical challenges, Franz Anton Hoffmeister's Concerto no. 1 has emerged as the preferred concerto for double bass auditions. Tobias Glöckler's edition leaves no wishes unfulfilled: the double bass part appears in solo and orchestral tuning with piano reductions in D major and C major.

Moreover an additional part, written in fingering notation, has been specially designed for use with the Viennese tuning customary in Hoffmeister's days. It allows players to use this resonant historical tuning immediately without tedious retraining. Finally, a separate part is also provided for the solo violin appearing in the second movement.?