Joseph Haydn (17321809)

Symphony in G major Hob. I:100


for: Symphonic orchestra

Score (Urtext edition)

Item no.349557
Author/ComposerJoseph Haydn
EditorHorst Walter
Scope80 pages; 24 × 31 cm
Release year2007
Producer No.BA 4637
40.95 €
In stock. Delivery time: 1–2 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


  • Urtext of the “Joseph Haydn Complete Edition” published by G. Henle
  • Large format orchestral parts
  • Detailed preface (Ger/Eng)

Composed in 1791 and nicknamed “The Miracle”, this symphony belongs to the first group of London Symphonies together with nos. 93 and 95. The nickname “Miracle” originates from a performance of a Haydn symphony (though probably not this one) in which several rows of listeners vacated their seats attempting to view “Papa” Haydn from a closer range. Moments later a chandelier fell directly on the then empty seats fortunately injuring no one.

“The Military” (No.100) composed for Haydn’s third London journey was immediately characterized in reviews with this nickname because of the pronounced march-like rhythm of the Allegretto. These publications complete Bärenreiter’s performing materials to Joseph Haydn’s famous cycle of the twelve London Symphonies, just in time for the Haydn Year 2009.

Urtext from: Joseph Haydn Werke, G. Henle Verlag München.