Joseph Haydn (17321809)

Complete Piano Sonatas 3

for: Piano

Music score (Urtext edition)

Item no.401213
Author/ComposerJoseph Haydn
EditorHans-Martin Theopold, Georg Feder
Scope132 pages; 23.5 × 31 cm
Release year2002
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 242
29.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Among Joseph Haydn’s extensive oeuvre is an almost inexhaustible stock of piano sonatas. With altogether over 50 works, they form a significant segment of his overall output. One of this composer’s great achievements is that in these sonatas – as in many other genres, such as the symphonies and string quartets – Haydn bridges discrepant stylistic eras, and lays the founding stone for the classical piano sonata.

Volume III stands out for its eleven exceptionally lovely and important pieces. Five of them are in two movements, including the often played Sonata in G major Hob.XVI:40. The eleven pieces are basically all masterworks amongst which the e minor Sonata Hob.XVI.34,the E-flat major Sonata Hob. XVI:49 and a second E-flat major Sonata (this one written in England), Hob. XVI:52, deserve special attention.


  • Sonata D major Hob. XVI:33
  • Sonata e minor Hob. XVI:34
  • Sonata G major Hob. XVI:40
  • Sonata B flat major Hob. XVI:41
  • Sonata D major Hob. XVI:42
  • Sonata A flat major Hob. XVI:43
  • Sonata C major Hob. XVI:48
  • Sonata E flat major Hob. XVI:49
  • Sonata C major Hob. XVI:50
  • Sonata D major Hob. XVI:51
  • Sonata E flat major Hob. XVI:52