Joseph Haydn (17321809)

Violin Concerto in C major Hob. VIIa:1

for: Violin, string orchestra

Piano score, solo part (Urtext edition)

Item no.401427
Author/ComposerJoseph Haydn
EditorHeinz Lohmann, Günter Thomas
Scope60 pages
Release year2002
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 446
14.50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Haydn’s concertante works written at the court of the Princes of Esterházy, reflect the skills of individual members of the Esterhazy court orchestra.

Thus Haydn created the Violin Concerto in C major Hob. Vlla:1 for the court orchestra’s concertmaster, Luigi Tomasini, a famous violinist of the day and a himself a composer. Tomasini must have inspired Haydn to the technical brilliance and the lovely, Italian tone that resonates through this still quasi-Baroque concerto.

Our Urtext edition is based on the Haydn Complete Edition, also published by G. Henle Verlag. In the detailed preface one can read about which sources were consulted for the edition, which is rounded off bysophisticated string bowings and fingerings by Kurt Guntner, and by cadenzas created by Franz Beyer.