George Frideric Handel (16851759)

Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo

Edited from the sources
Wiener Urtext Edition

for: Violin, basso continuo

Piano score, solo part

Item no.555226
Author/ComposerGeorge Frideric Handel
EditorBernhard Moosbauer
Scope142 pages; 23 × 30.5 cm
Release year2010
Publisher/ProducerWiener Urtext Edition
Producer No.UT 50264
28.50 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Georg Friedrich Handel's Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo belong to the core repertoire of Baroque violin music, some of them even being among the most famous repertoire pieces of their time. The new edition in the Wiener Urtext Edition series is based on Handel's autographs, contemporary copies and first prints. In addition to Handel's nine violin sonatas, it contains two minuets for violin and basso continuo which have been handed down in the environment of the sonatas.

Apart from the solo violin part and a continuo score with a realised, easily playable basso continuo, the edition also includes a figured bass part which gives experienced continuo players the opportunity to improvise on the basso continuo part. The notes on interpretation by the renowned Baroque expert Reinhard Goebel provide insight into a sonata performance that was common practice at the time of Handel.


  • Vorwort
  • Hinweise zur Verzierungspraxis
  • Facsimila
  • Sonate in G HWV 358
  • Sonate in g HWV 364a
  • Sonate in d HWV 359a
  • Sonate in A HWV 361
  • Sonate in D HWV 371
  • Sonate in A HWV 372
  • Sonate in E HWV 373
  • Sonate in g HWV 368
  • Sonate in F HWV 370
  • Allegro in c HWV 308
  • Andante in a HWV 412
  • Menuet in D HWV 420
  • Menuet in D HWV 421
  • Kritische Anmerkungen