George Frideric Handel (16851759)

Water Music Suite

Sample score

HWV 348-350

for: Concert band

Score, conductor's part, orchestral parts

Item no.637930
Author/ComposerGeorge Frideric Handel
ArrangerAlbert Loritz
Dimensions21 × 29.5 cm
Duration14 minutes
Release year1985
Publisher/ProducerMusikverlag RUNDEL
Producer No.MVSR 0409
95.00 €
Delivery time: 4–5 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Along with the "Messiah" and the "Fireworks Music", "Water Music" is one of Georg Friedrich Handel's best-known and most popular creations. The reason for the composition was a boat trip on the Thames, which King George I organised on 17 July 1717. Handel was to provide a festive musical setting during the cruise and probably also at the subsequent evening dinner. The 20 individual movements of "Water Music" actually form three self-contained suites.

The five movements of the present wind orchestra arrangement were arranged in such a way that the listener can also gain a small insight into the extensive and varied original work in this short version.


  • Alla Hornpipe (Suite II D-Dur)
  • Bourrée (Suite II D-Dur)
  • Air (Suite I F-Fur)
  • Menuett (Suite I F-Dur)
  • Allegro (Suite I F-Dur)