Edvard Grieg (18431907)

Norwegian Peasant Dances [Slåtter] op. 72

for: Piano

Music score (Urtext edition)

Item no.401470
Author/ComposerEdvard Grieg
EditorEinar Steen-Nøkleberg, Ernst Herttrich
Scope80 pages
Release year2002
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 491
25.50 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


Edvard Grieg used Norwegian folk music to help him develop his own Nordic tonal language, and this often gives his music a folk-like character. His “Peasant Dances” (“Slåtter”) op. 72 for piano first appeared in 1903.

These pianistically rather demanding transcriptions of dances from a collection by Johan Halvorsen bear titles such as “John Wästaf’s Springing Dance”, “Bridal March from Telemark”, and “The Maiden from the Kivletal”. For pianists who want to become acquainted with folk-inspired Norwegian music other than Grieg’s well-known “Lyrical Pieces” or the “Norwegian Dances” op. 35, these sixteen tunes are highly recommended.


  • Giböens Brautmarsch op. 72,1
  • John Wästafa's Springtanz op. 72,2
  • Brautmarsch aus Telemarken op. 72,3
  • Halling aus dem Hügel op. 72,4
  • Der Prillar aus dem Kirchspiel Os. Springtanz op. 72,5
  • "Getretener Tanz (nach ""dem Müller"")" op. 72,6
  • Halling aus dem Hallingtal op. 72,7
  • "Brautmarsch (nach ""dem Müller"")" op. 72,8
  • Nils Rekve's Halling op. 72,9
  • Knut Lurasens Halling I op. 72,10
  • Knut Lurasens Halling II op. 72,11
  • "Springtanz (nach ""dem Müller"")" op. 72,12
  • Havar Giböens Traum an der Olterholtsbrücke op. 72,13
  • Die Brautfahrt der Unterirdischen. Getretener Tanz op. 72,14
  • Die Skuldalsbraut. Getretener Tanz op. 72,15
  • Die Mädchen aus dem Kivletal. Springtanz op. 72,16
  • Die Mädchen aus dem Kivletal. Getretener Tanz op. 72,17