César Franck (18221890)

Piano Quintet in f Minor

for two violins, viola, cello and piano
Henle Urtext Editions

for: 2 violins, viola, cello, piano (piano quintet)

Score, Parts (Urtext edition)

Item no.683175
Author/ComposerCésar Franck
ArrangerKlaus Schilde
EditorErnst-Günter Heinemann
Scope142 pages
Release year2018
Publisher/ProducerHenle Verlag
Producer No.HN 1142
45.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


This work, composed in 1878/79, alternates between chamber music intimacy and symphonic opulence, and marks the beginning of a series of significant late works by César Franck. Its composition was partly prompted by the successful performance of Franck’s youthful piano trios at the “Société nationale de musique” (founded in 1871), and probably also by a composition competition for works using this instrumental combination whose deadline Franck then went on to miss.

he Quintet was received coolly at its first performance in January 1880, and it was performed just a few more times during the composer’s lifetime. It was only in the 20th century that audiences and critics came to recognise this work as a major milestone in the history of French chamber music, and it now adorns the Henle catalogue in a new Urtext edition.