Joseph Fiala (17481816)

Zwei Duette

Musica Viva Historica 58
– Title on Special Demand –

for: Oboe, viola [cello]

Score, Parts

Item no.695310
Author/ComposerJoseph Fiala
Dimensions23.5 × 31 cm
Release year2008
Producer No.H 7787
14.50 €
incl. VAT, plus shipping
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


“He has very good ideas,” writes Mozart about the excellent Czech oboist, viola da gamba player and composer Josef Fiala (1748–1816) in one of his letters. he compositional heritage of Fiala consists of some 120 pieces, all except one of them instrumental.

They include symphonies, concertos and double concertos for various instruments, a number of wind instrument partitas and divertimentos, chamber music pieces for all manner of ensembles, and a total of 17 duets for diverse instruments, including one work only partially preserved.

Half of them were published during the composer’s lifetime. Both of the duets for oboe and viola or cello were written in Salzburgbetween the years 1778–1785. They are revised and introduced by Miloslav Klement. The publication is part of the old Musica Viva Historica series.