Edward Elgar (18571934)

Pomp and Circumstance, Marches 1–5, op. 39

Organ Music from England and America Volume 38
Organ transcriptions Volume 2

for: Organ

Music score

Item no.670051
Author/ComposerEdward Elgar
EditorEdward Tambling
Scope68 pages
Release year2017
Publisher/ProducerDr. J. Butz
Producer No.BUTZ 2811
16.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


After the great success of the first volume with Elgar organ transcriptions (BU 2566), Edward Tambling has taken up the most popular works of Elgar, the "Pomp and Circumstance" marches, which are available here for the first time completely and unabridged in an organ version.

The marches No. I in D major and No. IV in G major (also published here in four-handed versions, BU 2737 and BU 2836) are the best known, but the other three are also characterised by the same, high-contrast and effective structure: rhythmically pointed and immediately gripping frame parts surround a slow middle part with an unmistakable melody exuding melody. A brilliant coda brings the elements together in a brilliant increase.

If you are looking for an effective, genuinely British finale for a church service or concert, you will find these well thought-out transcriptions suitable for the instrument!