Edward Elgar (18571934)

Variations on an Original Theme op. 36

Bärenreiter Urtext

for: Symphonic orchestra

Cello (orchestral part)

Item no.765487
Author/ComposerEdward Elgar
EditorChristopher Hogwood
Scope14 pages; 25.5 × 32.5 cm
Release year2007
Producer No.BA 9042-82
9.95 €
incl. VAT plus shipping
Minimum quantity: 2 copies
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


  • First Urtext edition of this popular concert work
  • Critical Commentary with facsimiles
  • Large format performance material

Edward Elgar’s popular Enigma Variations, composed between 1898-99 is a collection of variations on an original theme - each of the variations is dedicated to one of his close friends - or as Elgar himself put it: “Dedicated to my Friends Pictured Within”.

Christopher Hogwood’s new Urtext edition makes use of all known source material including the early sketches, autograph score and the revised text from 1904, the new edition clarifies discrepancies between the score and reprintings of the orchestral material while also documenting Elgar’s revisions. The edition contains the original ending to the Intermezzo (Variation X) as well as the original ending to the last variation.


  • Introduction
  • Einführung
  • Facsimiles / Faksimiles
  • Theme
  • I (C.A.E.)
  • II (H.D.S.-P.)
  • III (R.B.T.)
  • IV (W.M.B.)
  • V (R.P.A.)
  • VI (Ysobel)
  • VII (Troyte)
  • VIII (W.N.)
  • IX (Nimrod)
  • X (Dorabella) Intermezzo
  • XI (G.R.S.)
  • XII (B.G.N.)
  • XIII (***) Romanza
  • XIV (E.D.U.) Finale
  • First Ending
  • Second Ending
  • Critical Commentary