Hanns Eisler (18981962)

Piano Music 1 – Sonatas and Variations

Sample score

Hanns Eisler Complete Edition (HEGA) Serie IV/10

for: Piano

Music score (hardcover)

Item no.657983
Author/ComposerHanns Eisler
EditorJohannes C. Gall, Christoph J. Keller
Languagesgerman, english
Scope192 pages; 25 × 32 cm
Release year2015
Publisher/ProducerBreitkopf & Härtel
Producer No.SON 510
168.00 €
Delivery time: 2–3 working days (Germany )
add to watch list


The first volume of Hanns Eisler's piano works contains the three sonatas and a variation cycle. Surprisingly, it is precisely the rebel among the Schoenberg pupils who left behind a complex piano oeuvre and, after the journeyman's piece – the Sonata op. 1 (1923)– he even accomplished a remarkable stylistic development. Among these works are two impressive works of exile, the Variations for Piano (1940) and the Sonata no. 3 (1943), which is considered as Eisler's most original and significant piano work. Since the first editions were quite unreliable, the Eisler Complete Edition presents the first authentic and correct musical text.


  • Dritte Sonate für Klavier
  • Variationen für Klavier
  • Sonate für Klavier op . 1
  • Zweite Sonate für Klavier (in Form von Variationen) op . 6